Medicaid and Special Assistance

The following types of Medicaid and Special Assistance are available in NC:

  • Family and Children Medicaid
  • Adult Medicaid
  • Medicare Premium
  • Long Term Medicaid
  • Special Assistance

Families and Children Medicaid

Several different groups of individuals qualify for Families and Children Medicaid. These groups fall under the categories families, children and pregnant women. All the programs have income limits and some have resource limits. Children under the age of 19, who do not qualify for Medicaid, may qualify for NC Health Choice.

Adult Medicaid

Adult medicaid helps with individual medical costs for the aged, blind or disabled. Covered services include:

  • Payment of Medicare premiums
  • Inpatient and outpatient hospital care
  • Doctor visits and clinical services
  • Licensed home care services
  • Eyeglasses
  • Prescription medicine
  • Laboratory and x-ray services
  • Nursing and hospice care
  • Durable medical equipment (eg. walkers)
  • Medically necessary ambulance transport
  • Dental care

Medicare Premium

Individuals eligible for the state to buy-in payment of the Medicare Part B premium:

  • Are enrolled in Medicare Part A
  • Meet the MQB-Q requirements
  • Have income between 100 percent and 120 percent of poverty
  • With Medicaid "B" classification, buy-in is effective the same month authorized. This program does not provide extra benefits. Recipients authorized for MQB-B are not issued a Medicaid card.

Long Term Care Medicaid

Medicaid pays for medically necessary nursing home care for patients in:

  • skilled or intermediate care nursing homes
  • intermediate care facilities for the mentally disabled

Special Assistance

This program helps with the cost of care for individuals who are: 

  • Aged, blind or disabled
  • In domiciliary care. Group homes or adult care home facilities and assisted living facilities. These facilities are also known as rest homes.