Youth Commission

Youth Commission.png

The Youth Commission provide teens the opportunity to be active citizens. The commission:

  • exposes teens to County government
  • allows opportunities to discuss issues and interact with County Commissioners and employees
  • creates youth-adult partnerships

The commission consists of 20 members appointed by the Board of Commissioners. Membership includes representatives from the following schools:

  • A.L. Brown High School
  • Central Cabarrus High School
  • Concord High School
  • Cox Mill High School
  • Hickory Ridge High School
  • Jay M. Robinson High School
  • Mount Pleasant High School
  • Northwest Cabarrus High School
  • At-large/Cabarrus Kannapolis Early College
  • At-large/Covenant Classical School

Appointments are for two-year terms.

The Youth Commission explores local governmental departments during travel meetings. These meetings are held on the first Monday of each month.