Cabarrus commissioners receive public health award

Published on October 02, 2023

Steve Morris

Cabarrus County Manager Mike Downs and Board Chair Steve Morris recently accepted the NCPHA Partners in Public Health Award on behalf of Cabarrus County Commissioners for their collaborative spirit and advocacy for improved behavioral healthcare access.

The Partners in Public Health Award is given to organizations and professions outside of public health departments that have made significant contributions to public health in North Carolina over the past year.

In 2016, Commissioners convened the Mental Health Advisory Board. The multi-sectoral board oversees three task forces focused on data and assessments, access and impact, and trauma-informed communities. Commissioners invested over $11 million in organizations providing mental health services to Cabarrus residents, including funding a behavioral health holding unit at Atrium Health Cabarrus. Other programs that have received support include jail-based behavioral health clinicians, a re-entry alliance, and hiring the county’s first Behavioral Health Director to oversee programs and services.

“It’s an honor to be recognized for the work that is happening every day in our community. Public health professionals don’t do it for the awards, but I’m elated Suzanne, Martil, County Manager Downs and our Commissioners could be honored in this public forum in front of so many others” said Erin Shoe, Public Health Director.

The award was given at this year’s North Carolina Public Health Association (NCPHA) fall conference. 

NCPHA is an association of individuals and organizations working to improve the public’s health through political advocacy, public awareness, professional development, and the interface between research and practice.

Former Cabarrus Health Alliance Clinical Director Suzanne Knight received the Rankin Legacy Award. This award is given to a NCPHA member for recognition of the outstanding contributions to public health in North Carolina over the member's lifetime.

CHA’s STOP School Violence grant was honored with the North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation Local Health Department Recognition Award. The award acknowledges local health departments that have developed an innovative program that has produced measurable, sustainable outcomes.

Tagged as: