Local Emergency Planning Committee

No business or organization is immune to emergencies. Would you like to learn more about planning for and surviving emergency situations? If so, join the Cabarrus County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC). This committee includes municipal and county emergency responders and community and business representatives. We learn from each other and provide resources and training on how to:

  • Handle on-site emergencies or chemical releases
  • Effectively coordinate with local response emergency agencies
  • Start and continue emergency response planning
  • Understand OSHA standards

How do I attend a Local Emergency Planning Committee meeting?

The Local Emergency Planning Committee meets quarterly. Our meetings are a combination of in-person and virtual. All meetings are open to the public.

The meeting schedule for 2024 is:

  • Wednesday, February 7 at 1:00 pm, Milestone Building Conference Center
  • Wednesday, May 1 at 1:00 pm, EMS Headquarters
  • Wednesday, August 7 at 1:00 pm, Milestone Building Conference Center
  • Wednesday, November 6 at 1:00 pm, EMS Headquarters

For information on meeting location:

I have a Tier II facility, how do I submit my plans to the Local Emergency Planning Committee?

Cabarrus County utilizes E-Plan:

  • for Tier II reporting
  • to register a Tier II facility

You can enter your Tier II reporting online. You do not need to provide a hard copy of your Tier II filing to the Local Emergency Planning Committee.

Has your business been identified as a Risk Management Program (RMP) facility? If so, you must provide a current copy of your emergency action plan to:

  • Cabarrus County Emergency Management
  • Cabarrus County Local Emergency Planning Committee
  • Your responding fire department(s)

Call 704-920-2143 for assistance.

E-Plan Registration and Reporting

2023 Local Emergency Planning Committee Officers

  • Chairperson, Neal Powell, Perdue
  • Vice Chairperson, Jens Schoenfuss, MC Polymers
  • Secretary, Kyle Deblare, Cabarrus County Emergency Management

Why does Cabarrus County have an Local Emergency Planning Committee?

October 17, 1986 Congress enacted the Emergency Planning and Community Right-To-Know Act (EPCRA). This act is also known as Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act (SARA). It requires a local emergency planning committee for each emergency planning district.

Emergency Planning and Community Right-To Know Act (EPCRA)