Planning and Zoning Commission

This commission serves a key role in shaping the future development of the county as it reviews subdivisions, assists in area plans, and makes land use decisions, some of which are forwarded to the Board of Commissioners. The commission also serves as the Board of Adjustment that hears and decides appeals of decisions by the Zoning Enforcement Officer, and grants special use permits/variances. Members include a representative from each of the 7 planning areas (Concord, Midland, Central, Eastern, Harrisburg, Kannapolis and Northwest Cabarrus), 2 At-large representatives and 3 Alternate members. Appointments are for 3 year terms.

The Planning and Zoning Commission regular monthly meeting is held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 pm in the Governmental Center, Board of Commissioners Chambers.

Application deadline is one month prior to the meeting at which you would like your application to be considered.

You must schedule a meeting with the County Planning Services Department to review your sketch plat at least two weeks prior to the submission deadline.

To apply, complete questionnaire and return with application

 Planning and Zoning Commission Members

Mr. Steve WiseAlternate At-Large
521 McCready Street
Concord NC  28025
Brent RockettKannapolis
2642 StoneWood View
Kannapolis NC  28081
Mr. Jeffrey CorleyCentral
6880 Palafox Drive
Concord NC  28025
Adam DagenhartAlternate At-Large
11645 Mud Drive
Midland NC  28107 
Mr. Andrew GrahamAlternate At-Large
9420 Guildbrook Road
Davidson NC 28036
Ms. Shannon FryeChairNorthwest Area
6211 Fox Chase Drive
Davidson, NC 28036​
Mr. Aaron RitchieEastern
5000 Basswood Drive
Concord, NC 28025​
Mr. Richard PriceMidland
4007 Rodney Court
Midland, NC 28107​
Ms. Mary BlakeneyConcord
182 Tournament Drive SW
Concord, NC 28025​
Mr. James LitakerAlternate At-Large
1501 Riding Trail Lane
Concord, NC 280257
Mr. Chris PintoVice-ChairAt-Large
4981 St.Stephens Church Rd.
Gold HIll NC 28071